2017 Acura Models Receive Top Safety Ratings from NHTSA

September 8th, 2016 by

2017 acura mdxBuilding a true luxury car or crossover means that every element of the vehicle must be state-of-the-art, including the safety features. It’s with that in mind that we are proud to announce that the entire lineup of 2017 Acura models have received 5-Star Overall Vehicle Safety Ratings from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).*

Whether you’re driving our entry-level ILX around the streets of Chicago or shuttling the kids around Naperville in an MDX, you can rest easy knowing you’re behind the wheel of one of the safest luxury vehicles on the road.

State-of-the-Art Safety

The 2016 RLX, 2017 ILX, and 2017 TLX sedans as well as the 2017 RDX and 2017 MDX crossovers feature a wide variety of standard and available safety features that are designed to reduce the risk of an accident and also mitigate the damage if an accident is unavoidable.

Standard safety features on each model include:

  • Advanced Compatibility Engineering (ACE) Body Structure
  • Multi-angle rearview camera system with guidelines
  • Three-point seat belts for each seating position
  • Airbags designed to deploy with the right level of force for a given accident
  • Stability and traction control
  • Anti-lock brakes

In addition to these features, Acura ensures their technology features are designed with safety in mind—navigation systems are all controllable with voice commands, for instance—and has a suite of AcuraWatch safety features available that includes:

  • Collision Mitigation Braking
  • Adaptive Cruise Control
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Departure Warning
  • Lane Keeping Assist

With the number of drivers choosing the MDX as their next family vehicle, Acura includes the AcuraWatch features as standard on all 2017 MDX models.

Safety Is Nothing New for Acura

We’re proud that the current lineup of Acura vehicles is receiving such high marks from the NHTSA, but we want to be clear that Acura has been making some of the safest luxury vehicles for years. The Acura brand was the first luxury automaker to earn 5-Star Overall Vehicle Safety Ratings for its entire lineup in 2009. Ratings from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) are still forthcoming for the new lineup, but the 2016 ILX, RLX, MDX, and RDX all earned their highest rating for 2016: Top Safety Pick+.

Test Drive an Acura

Whether you’re seeking a sedan or a crossover, safety should be a top priority. Check out one of these award-winning Acura models today at a Chicagoland Acura Dealer near you.

*Government 5-Star Safety Ratings are part of the U.S. Department of Transportation’s New Car Assessment Program (www.safercar.gov). Model tested with standard side airbags (SAB).

Posted in 2017 Vehicles, Safety