The 2016 Acura RLX Safety Features Earn Government Recognition

May 18th, 2015 by

2016 RLX
If you’ve been following the updates to the Acura lineup for the 2016 model year, you know that the new AcuraWatch safety technologies have been getting quite a bit of attention, and here at Chicagoland Acura Dealers, we are excited to announce that the high-tech 2016 Acura RLX safety features helped it earn special recognition from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and their New Car Assessment Program.

How well did the new RLX perform for the NHTSA? How does a Five-Star Overall Safety Rating sound? Let’s take a look at those safety features and see just what makes the RLX such a smart choice for a safe new luxury sedan.

Taking Safety to a New Level

While it’s possible to earn the Five-Star Overall Safety Rating without acing all of your government safety tests, we are proud to say that the Acura RLX and RLX Sport-Hybrid took home five-star scores in all six of the crash test ratings as well as in the government’s rollover resistance rating.

Michael Accavitti, Acura’s Senior VP and General Manager, responded to the safety news: “The 2016 Acura RLX exemplifies how the brand is creating new value for luxury customers with the addition of advanced safety technologies. Luxury customers expect the latest in technology and Acura delivers with safety and driver assistive technologies available across the lineup.”

If you haven’t yet heard of what’s available on AcuraWatch vehicles, here’s just a glimpse of the high-tech safety amenities you can find on RLX models equipped with the safety suite:

  • Collision mitigation braking
  • Adaptive cruise control
  • Lane departure warning
  • Forward collision warning
  • Lane keeping assitance
  • Blind spot information
  • Road departure mitigation
  • Multi-angle rearview camera
  • Acura’s surround view camera
  • Rear cross traffic monitor

The RLX isn’t the only award-winner in the house; Acura has earned top safety ratings from both the NHTSA and the IIHS for the 2015 TLX performance sedan and the MDX luxury crossover, each of which also feature the AcuraWatch technology suite.

Of course, these are just a few of the Acura’s new refinements. The best way for you to see the rest of them is with a test drive from a Chicagoland Acura Dealer near you.

Visit a Chicagoland Acura Dealer for More

If you want to learn more about the 2016 Acura RLX safety features or find out how you can drive one home, you should visit a Chicagoland Acura Dealer. We have many convenient locations both in the city of Chicago and in the suburbs, and we can’t wait to serve you.

Chicagoland Acura Dealers includes Joe Rizza Acura, Acura of Libertyville, Muller’s Woodfield Acura, McGrath Acura of Westmont, Continental Acura of Naperville, Arlington Acura in Palatine, Ed Napleton Acura, McGrath Acura of Morton Grove, Pauly Acura, McGrath Acura of Downtown Chicago, and Muller Acura of Merrillville.
Posted in 2016 Vehicles